Co-parenting is likely to be a challenge, even if you and your ex-spouse get along relatively well. You both may have some differences your childrearing philosophies and ideas on which household rules and discipline techniques to implement. Not surprisingly, one of you might end up being seen as the “good” parent while the other is the wet blanket. This is especially true for parents in Rhode Island who spend a great deal of their parenting time lavishing gifts on the children or taking them on trips, while the other parent gets stuck with most of the responsibility.
You may have gone out to dinner and had a glass of wine or two, or had only one beer when you went to the bar with friends. You may feel relaxed and fuzzy, but you are sure that you are under the legal blood alcohol limit of 0.08 percent, so you figure you are safe to drive. However, you and other Rhode Island residents may want to reconsider driving with any amount of alcohol in your system, whether it is a legal amount or not.
If you are a Rhode Island resident who enjoys smoking an occasional joint, you probably are keeping your eye on how the “fight” to legalize marijuana in our state is going. Rather well, actually.
When a married couple divorces, it often happens that one spouse starts dating another person. Furthermore, it is natural for the other spouse to not approve of the new romantic interest. You may be wondering whether you can veto your ex dating a specific person you dislike because you have children.
Each state has different laws regarding driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated, known as DUI and DWI. In Rhode Island, for example, the legal limit for blood alcohol content or blood alcohol concentration, known as BAC, is .08 percent, which is also the "per-se" BAC level in all states.
If law enforcement arrested you on a DUI charge, you may be wondering what your next steps should be. A DUI arrest can throw your life into a tailspin, especially if this is the first time you have been arrested and this is your first contact with the criminal justice system.
Many Americans move out of their hometowns at some point but love visiting. For example, you might feel crazy to pass up your parents' delicious cooking for a holiday, or perhaps the thought of attending a high school reunion appeals to you.
Getting into a car accident can often seem like a nightmare — it happens so fast, and you will likely be in shock immediately following the crash. Regardless of who was at fault or how the accident occurred, all drivers involved must remain at the scene until law enforcement arrives. You might be wondering what happens if you leave before this point.
If Rhode Island police suspect you of drunk driving, they will pull you over and look for a reason to arrest you and give you DUI charges. When no apparent proof or symptoms of intoxication are available, law enforcement can determine impairment through tests.
Under Rhode Island law, any driver involved in an accident or who had reason to believe he or she was involved in an accident must stop. For example, leaving the scene when someone is hurt can lead to penalties such as driver's license suspension, fines and imprisonment. If stopping at the scene itself would be unsafe, drivers are allowed to stop as close as possible, and they should take every care to minimize the disruption of traffic.