January 2018 Archives

Paying for insurance after a divorce

When a Rhode Island resident gets a divorce, it may impact his or her ability to get insurance. It may also play a role in how his or her child gets insurance. For adults, the first option may be to apply for insurance as per the Consolidated Omnibus Reconciliation Act, or COBRA. If a spouse worked for a company with 20 or more employees, the other spouse may be entitled to COBRA for up to 36 months after the divorce.

Tougher DUI penalties could be coming

A study just released by the National Academies of Science, Engineering and Medicine is giving a push to efforts by drunk driving activists to lower the threshold for DUI penalties in the United States. The journal article states that lowering the blood alcohol content to .05, combined with other measures, would reduce the number of drunk driving-related deaths.

Can I refuse a DUI chemical test in Rhode Island?

Each state has different laws regarding driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated, known as DUI and DWI. In Rhode Island, for example, the legal limit for blood alcohol content or blood alcohol concentration, known as BAC, is .08 percent, which is also the "per-se" BAC level in all states. 

What to keep in mind when negotiating a divorce settlement

The good news is that Rhode Island ranks 36th among the states with the highest divorce rates. While ending a marriage isn't as common here as in many other states, there are still times when a union of this nature needs to be legally dissolved. Regardless of the circumstances involved, one of the first steps in this process is making an attempt to negotiate a fair settlement between parties.

Steps to consider if you receive a DUI in Rhode Island

If law enforcement arrested you on a DUI charge, you may be wondering what your next steps should be. A DUI arrest can throw your life into a tailspin, especially if this is the first time you have been arrested and this is your first contact with the criminal justice system.

Divorce in January

Divorce filings in Rhode Island and the rest of the country tend to increase during the first month of the year. While a University of Washington study has determined that the majority of divorces occur during the months of March and August, the divorce courts still have to deal with the significant increase in divorce filings immediately after the start of each new year.

New Year's can be high time for divorce

For people in Rhode Island looking to end their marriage, the turn of the year can often be accompanied by new divorce filings. The January of every New Year brings a sharp uptick in the number of couples across the United States who choose to file for divorce. This increase can be attributed to a number of factors, including the stress of the holiday season and a choice to wait until after the family events of the winter holidays are completed before filing. It can even reflect people's hopes for a new start with the new year.

Contact

Nicholas J. Hemond Attorney at Law
1 Turks Head Place, 12th Floor
Providence, RI 02903

Phone: 401-648-6509
Providence Law Office Map

NicholasHemondPhoto.jpg