Many newer vehicle models have crash avoidance technology systems either as options or that come as standard features. These systems are meant to help to prevent some of the common types of preventable accidents, including single-car crashes, side-swipe accidents and head-on crashes. One organization was interested in finding out how effective collision avoidance systems are in reducing the accident and injury rates for these types of avoidable accidents.
Rhode Island couples often consider alternatives to litigation, such as mediation, when it comes to ending their marriage. However, there are situations in which it will be necessary to seek out the services of an attorney to ensure that one's rights and interests are being protected.
Rhode Island women who are considering divorce may be thinking about how their finances will be affected in the future. Due to realities such as the pay gap and gender roles, women often have a harder time than men becoming financially stable after their marriage ends.
One unfortunate reality of law enforcement is that police officers have flaws. They are human. They may even make serious mistakes and issue false arrests for a variety of reasons, some malicious.
Police investigators in Richmond had to piece together the events of a single-vehicle crash that killed a 37-year-old woman. She had been the passenger in a car driven by a 36-year-old man from Charlestown, who authorities found walking on the side of the road four hours after the accident.
Drivers in Rhode Island may have the opportunity to purchase a device that will alert them when they are in danger of falling asleep at the wheel. The Steer, a device that is worn on the wrist and that was developed by Creative Mode, measures sweat and heart rate to determine when a person is falling asleep. First, it delivers a vibration, and then it shocks the driver. At this point, the driver should find a place to rest and pull over.
In Rhode Island, driving while intoxicated is a term based on a blood alcohol content reading of 0.08 percent or higher. Drivers under the age of 21 can be charged with driving under the influence with a BAC of between 0.02 and 0.08 percent.