A first offense for driving under the influence in Rhode Island comes with varying penalties depending on the facts of your case. If you are facing charges for the first time, you probably have a lot of questions. You are likely wondering whether you will face jail time or how expensive your fines will be.
Each conviction is unique, but we can get an idea of the penalties from Rhode Island DUI laws. Keep reading for what you can expect.
First offense penalties
If you are charged with your first DUI, you are 21 years old or older, and your blood alcohol content was between 0.08 percent and 0.10 percent, these are the potential consequences:
- Fine between $100 and $300
- License suspension between 30 and 180 days
- Community service between 10 and 60 hours
- Jail for up to one year
It is worth noting that a first DUI offense is a misdemeanor and does not have a minimum incarceration period. This means it is possible that you will not face any jail time for your first DUI depending on the discretion of the court.
Refusing a chemical test
Did you refuse a chemical test when pulled over for the first time? If so, your license will likely be suspended for a minimum of six months and a maximum of one year. You might also face fines between $200 and $500 and be required to complete community service.
Getting your license back
In certain cases, you might be able to get a hardship license before your license is fully reinstated. If you are able to prove you need to drive to work, school or medical appointments, you might be able to get a limited license. Sometimes this requires a driving school program or installation of an ignition interlock device.
Getting charged with a DUI is scary, but this gives you an idea of what you can expect.